How often to clean and lube chain?

I'm new to chain drive and all my searching has led to lubing every 500 miles, clean and lube every 1000 miles. The opinions vary greatly, from never lubing due to the O/X-ring chains being internally lubed, to lubing every other ride. The middle ground is probably correct—best not to over do it, but also not leave it alone.

At least with lubing every 500 miles you're getting down close and inspecting the links often enough. If all you've ever had is a chain drive and you've never ever had problems, I think some complacency sets in and causes inspection intervals to get pushed back. Every 500 miles will get me into a habit (about every five to six days of riding).

When it looks dirty, clean it. When it looks dry, lube it. That way you avoid artificial guidelines on mileage.

Red 2015 Tracer, UK spec (well, it was until I started messing with it...)

I buy cheap chains and replace them often. This strategy gave me 40k miles on my stock Daytona sprockets and I hammered that bike (trackdays and hooliganism). I keep the tension in check and lube occasionally because chains are consumable to me.

'15 FJ09

• Premium Member
I'm new to chain drive and all my searching has led to lubing every 500 miles, clean and lube every 1000 miles. The opinions vary greatly, from never lubing due to the O/X-ring chains being internally lubed, to lubing every other ride. The middle ground is probably correct—best not to over do it, but also not leave it alone. 
At least with lubing every 500 miles you're getting down close and inspecting the links often enough. If all you've ever had is a chain drive and you've never ever had problems, I think some complacency sets in and causes inspection intervals to get pushed back. Every 500 miles will get me into a habit (about every five to six days of riding).