Madstad windshield

stgolfer

I have about 1800 miles with the new Madstad windshield on my '19 Tracer GT so far and absolutely love it! I'm 6'1" 32" inseam and went with the 26" screen. I can look over it and have absolutely no buffetting at 80mph. It incorporates lower side deflectors and holes to mount a ram ball for a GPS mount above the TFT screen. Yes, it's tall, but it works. 22" is WAY better than stock (i tried it) and 24" would work for most. You DO lose the one hand adjustability on the fly, but the height and angle are easily adjustable in seconds while stopped. If you spend any time on the highway, or behind SUVs or semis, this is your screen.

I'm having trouble posting pictures because of file size. I wish the forum could automatically resize them. They're on the Facebook forum.

Edited by stgolfer
  • Thumbsup 1

2003 ST1300A,  2017 PCX-150,  2019 Tracer 900 GT

• Premium Member

I second your observations on the Madstad screen. I have been using mine for 2-3 years, and it makes all the difference in the world. Couldn't imagine riding without it.....

Yes, that's my bike. The screen doesn't look nearly as large in real life, but it is big. You can get any size screen you want, whether a very small screen, or a big one like mine. At 6'1", I can still see over this and have NO head buffeting at 80mph behind a truck. This is a 26" screen, although they recommend a 22" for my height. I tried that, then went bigger. I will probably also get a small screen to barely cover my GPS, which is mounted above the TFT screen with a ram ball on the Madstad base. The base also includes lower side deflectors.

The Madstad bracket gives up and down adjustment, as well as large adjustment of the tilt. You give up the stock, one handed adjustability on the fly, but it takes 10 seconds to adjust while you're stopped. Having both height and tilt adjustment gives you a huge range of wind in the face, to full protection.