First ride - trany whine, GPS.

Luma46

So it finally warmed up to +10C, sunny skies and in spite of snow along the roads, I couldn't  wait any longer. Did my first 160 kms on my brand new GT. Engine and handling great, no need to elaborate, everything works as it should - almost.

In 6th gear under throttle there is an audible whine, something like turbine,  coming from what I assume is transmission. It starts around 70 km/h and disappears just before 120 km/h. It disappears as well on deceleration at any speed. It is not there in any other gear under any conditions. Any comments on that?

Weird thing happened to my old faithful Garmin Oregon 300 GPS, I have been using it on different bikes for at least 10 years. Have it in RAM holder on handlebar, just left of the center, about half foot away from bike's display. Batteries charged, perfect signal. Start up the bike and ride away and signal disappears, says no sattelites. Reset the GPS, all fine,  start riding, satellites gone. So I take the GPS off the holder, engine running and at distance over foot from bikes display it stars working again. There is clearly some interference coming from somewhere (speedometer display?) that is imobilizing the GPS. Will try some different location/position,  but this is disappointing. Anyone experienced something like that?

Not sure on that Luma, I have a 2015 FJ and my GPS rides right over the display, which of course is different from yours but it works perfectly.  Tried to load a pic but it's too big, oh well.

Ain't no fun when the rabbit gets the gun!

My two cents-worth - the whine is likely from an overtight chain, a very common complaint on GEN 1 machines arising from the incorrect factory setting and spec on 'slack'.   Simple remedy is to give about an inch/ 25 - 30mm slack on the chain.

• Thumbsup 1
  • Haha 1

Riding a fully-farkled 2019 MT-09 Tracer 900 GT from my bayside home in South East Queensland, Australia.   

1 minute ago, wordsmith said: