• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 48 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Travel luggage advise

So I'm finally heading out to the Alps for two weeks on a solo trip. I'm not doing any highway miles to get there, only back-roads.

I've planned the route and have booked B&B's so I won't need camping or sleeping gear. I've never done this before so I am looking at YT video's on what to pack, most by hardcore adventure riders.

My GT came with the Yamaha sport tank bag, side panniers and the big 50 L top case. I know that you're not to supposed to ride with all three cases but that some do this without issues. I also know that I shouldn't take too much stuff especially when I'm going to do those high Alp passes with steep inclines on the hairpins. I will keep the weight down. I will be moving all the time and so I will have the luggage on there almost all the time.

So my dilemma is this:

-Do I take all three cases but keep the top case almost empty and use it to stow things like my helmet, coat, gloves and satnav when I'm parked? I could also use it to take both my leathers and my goretex suit which isn't possible otherwise. (goretex only)

-Do I just take the side cases? I've ordered some "packing cubes" so I hope to fix things getting in the way of the rubber closing this way. I will have no option to leave my stuff and go on small hikes while on the road.

Bonus question: Do I buy a waterproof soft bag to put on the back instead or together with the topcase? I don't know if the side cases are really waterproof. They are still like new and should be at that price but are they?

The topcase makes the bike more top-heavy, even when I leave it almost empty I guess. It also takes a lot of wind when I'm up there but I'm seldom uncomfortable by that kind of wind on the highway. Will it make enough difference to be dangerous in the Alps?