Safety Recall

I received a letter from Yamaha (Europe) yesterday, with a recall.

It states that the handlebar bracket can come loose, and result in 'lack of steering'

Spoke to my dealer, and he's had 20 people ring him to book in...

He was telling me that they are changing the rubber bushings in the yoke, but equally he has not heard of any actual problems in the UK (this is Orwell motorcycles in Ipswich ... one of the bigger and respected dealers in the UK, I've been using them for the last 15 years, and I trust them)

On that basis I'm leaving mine to be done until June/July time, I'll just keep an eye on things, but I think I would notice anything loosening up in the steering department.

Anyway not sure if this is just Europe and a specific batch of bikes, or a general design issue inherent in all?

My bike BTW is 2015, with 8000 miles now.
Honda SS50, Kawasaki Z200, Honda 400/4, Yamaha TDM900, Yamaha XT660Z Tenere, KTM 990 Adventure, BMW R1200GS, Mr Stevens, and my favourite of all: Yamaha MT-09 Tracer...a bit like FJ-09 only properly named :¬P

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Premium Member
Got my letter yesterday too. Odd since I checked Yamaha site for whether my VIN was due for any "factory modification" work as recently as last Thursday and was told it wasn't. My bike is also a 2015 but the second batch to come into the UK (April) after the initial orders were fulfilled. 

• Premium Member
Got my letter yesterday too. Odd since I checked Yamaha site for whether my VIN was due for any "factory modification" work as recently as last Thursday and was told it wasn't. My bike is also a 2015 but the second batch to come into the UK (April) after the initial orders were fulfilled. 
my bike was the first sold by my dealer in 2015 - registered in Feb 2015 - only the demo bikes came earlier 
I had a letter some time after Good Friday as I have just go back from riding 2020 miles around France, on the other bike.