Bad brakes

petshark

So I bought this young Tracer GT with 5000 miles on it. I love the bike but there's something wrong with the brakes. They have no bite and I can only stop the bike by using maximum grip pressure. I've cleaned the disks and that does not help.

What would you do next?

Is there a way to see if there is air in the system without bleeding the oil?
First get new pads?

I've never worked on brakes before but I know my way around tools and am willing to try and learn.

Thanks!

• Supporting Member

I would also think about replacing the pads. you never know what the previous owner sprayed on them. I'm very happy with the EBC HH sintered pads I put on.

• Thumbsup 4

He who dies with the most toys wins.

I would start by removing the pads and inspecting them. Previous owner could have swapped them for organic pads for less bite, got something on them, never know with a used bike.

EBC sintered HH are the best pads.

Full fluid flush is next.

• Thumbsup 2

• Supporting Member

@petshark - As mentioned in previous posts, you can swap to a more abrasive brake pad with an HH rating, BUT you also have to clean the rotor surface, especially since you bought the bike used and don't know if the brake pad/ rotor surface is contaminated.

My method is to use a Scotch-Brite pad and isopropyl alcohol and THOROUGHLY scrub both sides of both rotors and then spray off any residue with brake cleaner. 

Before you install the new pads, also give the caliper pistons a good cleaning as well, I remove the caliper from the fork and extend the pistons.  I lightly coat the silver surface of the piston with brake fluid and scrub with an old toothbrush (brake fluid works great for removing that caked on black crud) and then again, spray off any residue with brake cleaner.